Notice

This November, the Warrenton School Board is putting forward a construction bond as part of long-term vision for our local schools.  Our schools need improvements in safety and security – including staged construction of schools outside the tsunami inundation zone. With future growth projections over of the next decade, addressing overcrowding is a priority. The Warrenton School District is doing everything we can to give our students a competitive edge with career and vocational programs. To learn more visit www.warrenton-hammondschoolbond.org.

Special Education

 
Vision Statement: Committed to Individual Success!

Mission Statement:  Recognizing that every student has unique individual needs, the Special Education program will be a collaborative effort between general and special education professionals who embrace the individual differences of our students.  We value all learners and all abilities and strive to create a supportive and productive learning environment that empowers our students to develop to their fullest potential in their school and community. 


The Warrenton-Hammond School District Special Education Program strives to support all students and their families who meet the special education eligibility requirements of IDEA. The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) is a federal special education law that requires school districts to provide a free appropriate public education to eligible children with disabilities. A free appropriate education means special education and related services, described in an Individualized Education Plan (IEP), and provided to children in the least restrictive environment. More information can be obtained from your child's teacher, the building special education teacher, or your principal. You may also call the Warrenton-Hammond Special Services Department at 503-861-3376 for additional information.

Special Education Director     Suzanne Harris harriss@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Secretary    Connie Rinell rinellc@warrentonk12.org

                                           503-861-3376

Special education services are provided for students meeting IDEA eligibility criteria in the following areas:

  • Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD-82)
  • Communication Disorder (CD-50)
  • Deaf/Blindness (DB-43)
  • Emotionally Disturbed (ED-60)
  • Hearing Impaired (HI-20)
  • Intellectual Disability (ID-10)
  • Orthopedic Impairment (OI-70)
  • Other Health Impairment (OHI-80)
  • Specific Learning Disability (SLD-90)
  • Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI-74)
  • Vision Impairment (VI-40)                                                                   ​

CHILD FIND

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) requires that school districts provide a free and appropriate education to all disabled children and young adults from birth through 21 years of age. The Warrenton-Hammond School District requests assistance with the identification of any disabled children ages 0 through 21, who are not enrolled or currently being served in one of the District's schools. If you know of any disabled children ages 0 through 21, who are not receiving education services, please call the WHSD Special Education Department at 503-861-3376.

Parental Rights - Procedural Safeguards 

(Multiple Languages Available)

 

 

Warrenton Grade School Special Education Staff
503-861-3376

Special Education Teacher  K-2 Colleen Bennett bennettc@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher  3-4 Scott Wolterman woltermans@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher 5-6 Miranda Rempfer rempferm@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher 7-8 Rachel Wyatt wyattr@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher K-4 Social Competency  Justine Gipson gipsonj@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher  K-8 Behavior Support Consortium Classroom  Jenna Allen allenj@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher K-8 Special Needs Consortium Classroom  Brooklynn Allison allisonb@warrentonk12.org
       

Warrenton High School Special Education Staff
503-861-3317

Special Education Teacher 9-10 Mallory Rettig rettigm@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher 11-12 Kathleen Adams adamsk@warrentonk12.org
Specialists
503-861-3376
Occupational Thereapist   Amy Miles

amiles@nwresd.k12.or.us

Speech-Language Pathologist   Paulette Rubio

rubiop@warrentonk12.org

School Psychologist   Emily Creel

creele@warrentonk12.org

School Nurse   Jackie Welborn

welbornj@warrentonk12.org

Speech-Language Assistant   Cynthia Jones cjones@nwresd.k12.or.us

Additional Resources: 

Oregon Department of Education

Northwest Regional Education Service District  

State SPED Report Cards

Parental Rights - Procedural Safeguards 

Diploma Options (1) (2)   

Opciones de Diploma (1(2)